Claude Code pricing, usage limits and free plan (Oct 2026)

Anthropic · 4 paid plans tracked · from $20/mo · last checked 2026-10-16

No free tierAI codingChecked

Is Claude Code free?

No free tier
Not included in the Free Claude plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free). Can alternatively be used pay-as-you-go with API credits via a Console account.Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Claude Code plans, prices and usage limits

Via Claude Pro

$20/mo
Annual: $200/yr
Limits Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Via Claude Max 5x

$100/mo
Limits 5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Via Claude Max 20x

$200/mo
Limits 20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

API (pay-as-you-go)

Usage billed at API token rates
Limits No subscription limit; pay per token.Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

How Claude Code's limits reset

PlanPricePeriods the vendor mentions
Free—Not stated
Via Claude Pro$20/mo5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Max 5x$100/mo5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Max 20x$200/moNot stated
API (pay-as-you-go)Usage billed at API token ratesNot stated
  • Via Claude Pro Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
  • Via Claude Max 5x five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.

Quoted from the sources above. Allowance periods are the time words each vendor uses in its limits ("weekly", "five-hour", "per month").

Notes

  • Works in terminal and in VS Code, Cursor and JetBrains IDEs; IDE usage counts toward the same limits.

Flags & uncertainty

Exact session/weekly allowances not published.

Claude Code price and limit history

No price, limit or free-tier change logged for Claude Code yet. The detector checks its pricing pages daily; get an alert when it moves.

Compare Claude Code

Claude Code pricing questions

Is Claude Code free?

No. Not included in the Free Claude plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free). Can alternatively be used pay-as-you-go with API credits via a Console account.

How much does Claude Code cost?

Claude Code has 4 paid plans: Via Claude Pro $20/mo; Via Claude Max 5x $100/mo; Via Claude Max 20x $200/mo; API (pay-as-you-go) Usage billed at API token rates. Cheapest: $20/mo. Checked 2026-10-16.

What are Claude Code's usage limits?

Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published. Via Claude Max 5x: 5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude. Via Claude Max 20x: 20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x. API (pay-as-you-go): No subscription limit; pay per token. Exact session/weekly allowances not published.

When do Claude Code usage limits reset?

Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Via Claude Max 5x: five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.

Is Claude Code cheaper if you pay yearly?

Yes, up to 15%: Via Claude Pro is $17/mo billed yearly instead of $20/mo.

Has Claude Code's pricing changed recently?

No change is logged for Claude Code yet. Prices were last checked 2026-10-16.

Visit Claude Code →

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.